Five Nights at Freddy’s (FNaF) Games Chronological Order of Release

Scott Cawthon’s Five Nights At Freddy’s (FNAF) franchise has not only captured the hearts of gamers but also woven an intricate web of storytelling that has left fans both enthralled and perplexed. 

With each installment, the story expands, resulting in a narrative mosaic that requires careful consideration. For those who relish diving into the depths of the FNAF universe, here’s a chronological and release order of each installment.

Five Nights at Freddy’s (FNAF) Games in Chronological Order


Like deciphering a cryptic code, arranging the FNAF games in chronological order allows the narrative to unfold in a manner that connects the dots and unveils the enigmatic tale in its entirety.

1. Five Nights at Freddy's 4: A Prequel and Prologue

Originally conceived as the franchise’s grand finale, Five Nights at Freddy’s 4 transports players to the year 1983, serving as a disjointed yet enlightening prologue to the overarching story. 

Delving into this installment at the outset offers players a foundational understanding of the FNAF universe without prematurely divulging pivotal plot elements.

2. Five Nights at Freddy's 2: Pioneering the Narrative

Stepping into the shoes of Jeremy Fitzgerald, the events of Five Nights at Freddy’s 2 transpire in 1987, acting as a precursor to the events of the inaugural game. 

This entry is widely regarded as the narrative’s cornerstone, introducing the fundamental building blocks that underpin the series’ complex storyline.

3. Five Nights at Freddy's Sister Location: Unveiling Hidden Layers

Diving deeper into the animatronics’ origin and evolution, Sister Location offers a comprehensive exploration of the past while expanding the narratives of integral characters. 

The revelations unveiled within this installment become essential knowledge for comprehending the intricacies and connections that gradually unfold in subsequent games.

4. Five Nights at Freddy's: Bridging Gaps

The original FNAF game, albeit lighter on lore, occupies a logical place between Sister Location and FNAF 3. Positioned here, it augments the overarching narrative by infusing context and continuity into the evolving saga.

5. Five Nights at Freddy's 3: Resurrecting the Past

Set against the backdrop of Freddy Fazbear’s Pizzeria’s long-closed doors, FNAF 3 finally bestows a name upon the series’ enigmatic antagonist and ventures into their backstory, casting light on motivations and past actions. 

This installment adds depth to the narrative by providing a glimpse into the antagonist’s psyche and motivations.

6. Freddy Fazbear's Pizzeria Simulator: The First Chapter's Culmination

Navigating the intricacies of Pizzeria Simulator necessitates a holistic understanding of the entire franchise’s lore. 

as a fitting conclusion to the “first chapter” of the FNAF tale, this game sets the stage for forthcoming narratives while also encapsulating the essence of what came before.

7-8. Five Nights at Freddy's Help Wanted and Five Nights at Freddy's: Special Delivery: Prelude to Darkness

Serving as precursors to the highly anticipated Security Breach, Help Wanted and Special Delivery reintroduce pivotal characters and lay the foundation for the series’ antagonistic force. 

These games rekindle the sense of unease and anticipation that fans have grown to associate with the FNAF experience.

9. Five Nights at Freddy's: Security Breach: A Culmination and Beginning

The most recent addition to the series, Security Breach, not only takes its place as the newest game but also the latest narrative installment. Its hidden True Ending encapsulates the conclusion of this chapter while acknowledging the potential for more stories within the FNAF universe.

10. Ultimate Custom Night: A Fan-Centric Frenzy

A Fan-Centric Frenzy fnaf

Although peripheral to the main narrative, Ultimate Custom Night caters to fans’ desires by providing an opportunity to engage with a diverse array of characters from the FNAF universe. 

This inclusion allows enthusiasts to delve into a carnival of fear, showcasing their knowledge of the franchise’s iconic figures.


The Five Nights At Freddy’s franchise, with its convoluted web of narratives, invites players and enthusiasts alike to embark on an odyssey through time, animatronics [1], and horror. 

Approaching the series through the lens of chronological order not only unveils the intricate tapestry of Scott Cawthon’s storytelling genius but also provides an immersive experience that challenges and captivates in equal measure. 

From the ominous beginnings of Five Nights at Freddy’s 4 to the enigmatic crescendo of Security Breach, each game contributes a brushstroke to the masterpiece that is the FNAF saga, leaving room for both speculation and anticipation of what dark corners the franchise might explore next.

Mathew has nursed a love of video games since childhood. Now, as an adult, he enjoys playing challenging games as much as he enjoys relating with other gamers. Matthew created Hypernia to give gamers like himself accurate and reliable information about games, servers, communication protocols, and much more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *